News Flash Home
The original item was published from 4/30/2019 6:52:00 PM to 1/1/2020 12:00:08 AM.

News Flash

Council News

Posted on: April 30, 2019


WSTC Appointment Receives Unanimous Council Support


The Prince George’s County Council unanimously confirmed the reappointment of Prince George’s County Council Chair Todd M. Turner (D) – District 4, to the Washington Suburban Transit Commission (WSTC) on Tuesday, April 30, 2019. Council Member Turner was appointed to the Commission by Prince George’s County Executive Angela D. Alsobrooks.

 WSTC serves as the bi-county agency that coordinates mass transit activities for Montgomery and Prince George’s Counties in concert with the State of Maryland and the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA).  The Commission also acts as the financial conduit through which funds flow between the counties, the State of Maryland and WMATA.  

 Council Chair Turner looks forward to serving a second consecutive term on the WSTC.  

 “I am grateful for the opportunity to serve my Council colleagues and the residents of Prince George’s County again as a member of the WSTC,” said Council Chair Turner. “As Prince George’s County continues to thrive, transportation and transit in the County and the region present both challenges and opportunities. I will continue the conversation addressing ways we might improve and grow our transportation systems.” 

 WSTC consists of seven members appointed to three-year terms. The Prince George’s County Executive and Montgomery County Executive each make two appointments. Annually, the position of chair alternates between Montgomery and Prince George's counties. Thomas Graham, a resident of Upper Marlboro, was also appointed to represent Prince George’s County as an alternate member of the WSTC Commission and WMATA Board.



Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Council News