News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/4/2019 7:52:20 PM to 7/1/2019 12:00:06 AM.

News Flash

Council News

Posted on: January 4, 2019


Prince George’s County Council Chair Todd M. Turner (D) – District 4, has announced Legislative Year 2019 Council committee assignments. The Council voted last July to amend its Rules of Procedure, allowing for a restructuring of Council standing committees. The new committee structure accommodates the expansion of the legislative body from nine to eleven members, increasing the number of standing committees from five to six.

Council Chair Turner notes the Council accomplishes most of its work through its standing committees, adding, “The primary role of our committees in the legislative process is twofold - to consider proposed legislation under review, and conduct the Council’s budget review and adoption process, including important fiscal and program oversight over the spending of assigned departments and agencies. This year’s committee leadership and assignments strike an important balance, applying diverse perspectives and a wealth of experience and skill, among all Council Members, returning and new, to perform the important work ahead this year.”

Council Member Sydney Harrison (D) – District 9, will chair the Education and Workforce Development Committee (EWD), with Council Member Derrick L. Davis (D) – District 6, serving as vice-chair. EWD members include Council Member At-Large Mel Franklin, and Council Members Deni Taveras (D) – District 2, and Monique Anderson Walker (D) – District 8. EWD will include oversight of the Prince George’s County Public Schools System; Community College; Memorial Library System; and Workforce Development programs, enabling a focus on the shared priority of college and career readiness.

Council Member At-Large Calvin Hawkins. II, will serve as Health, Human Services and Public Safety Committee (HSPS) chair, assisted in this work by Council Member Jolene Ivey (D) – District 5, who will serve as committee vice chair. Committee members include Council Members Mel Franklin, Sydney Harrison and Deni Taveras. Included among the agencies, institutions and issues of concern to HSPS: Prince George’s County Public Safety agencies. the Court system; Citizens Complaint Oversight Panel; University of Maryland Capital Region Health; County Health Department; and Department of Social Services.

Council Member Dannielle Glaros (D) – District 3, will chair the Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee (PHED). Council Member Calvin Hawkins, II, is committee vice chair. PHED Members include Council Members Derrick L. Davis, Thomas E. Dernoga (D) – District 1 and Jolene Ivey. In addition to County zoning and subdivision bills, and planning and land-use regulations, PHED will also support the outcomes of the Council’s economic development initiatives, and maintain a focus on housing policy, permitting and code enforcement within the Departments of Housing and Community Development and Permitting, Inspections and Enforcement respectively; the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, as well as the People’s Zoning Counsel.

Council Member Derrick L. Davis will serve as chair of the Government Operations and Fiscal Policy Committee (GOFP) and Council Member Thomas E. Dernoga will serve as vice-chair. Committee Members include Council Members Calvin Hawkins, II, Rodney Streeter (D) – District 7 and Monique Anderson-Walker. GOFP is responsible for several issues and policies related to general government, labor agreements, bond issues, budget and financial management, and cable television and telecommunications. Agency review responsibilities include the Office of Central Services; Office of Community Relations; Board of Elections, Board of License Commissioners; Office of Finance; Office of Human Resources Management; Human Relations Commission; Personnel Board; Office of Information Technology; Office of Law; Board of Ethics; Office of Management and Budget; and the Revenue Authority.

The Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee (TIEE), will be led by Council Member Deni Taveras as chair and Council Member Monique Anderson Walker who will serve as vice chair. Committee Members include Council Members Thomas E. Dernoga, Dannielle Glaros and Council Chair Todd Turner. TIEE handles legislative matters pertaining to transportation policy and planning, as well as environmental protections, green infrastructure and conservation and energy programs. Agency review responsibilities include the Department of the Environment; Animal Control; Department of Public Works and Transportation; the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission; and the Washington Suburban Transit Commission.

Council Vice Chair Streeter and Council Member Franklin will preside over the General Assembly Committee as chair and vice-chair, respectively. Members include Council Members Jolene Ivey, Sydney Harrison and Council Chair Todd Turner.

For committee staffing information and a complete listing of committee assignments, click HERE.


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Council News