News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/3/2018 2:29:05 PM to 3/1/2018 12:00:04 AM.

News Flash

Council News

Posted on: January 3, 2018


Prince George’s County Council Chair Dannielle Glaros has announced Council committee assignments and appointments to County boards and commissions for Legislative Year 2018.

Council Member Mary Lehman will serve as Health, Education and Human Services Committee (HEHS) chair, assisted in this work by Council Member Obie Patterson who will serve as committee vice chair. Committee members include Council Members Andrea C. Harrison, Mel Franklin and Derrick L. Davis.

Included among the agencies, institutions and issues of concern to HEHS: Prince George’s County Board of Education – Transfers and Budget Amendments; Prince George’s Community College; Citizens Complaint Oversight Panel; University of Maryland Capital Region Health; Board of Elections; Family Services-Americans with Disabilities Act and related items; County Health Department; all Board of Health issues; Human Relations Commission; Board of License Commissioners; Prince George’s County Memorial Library System; and Social Services.

Council Member Andrea C. Harrison will chair the Planning, Zoning and Economic Development Committee (PZED) for the second consecutive year. Council Member Mel Franklin is committee vice chair. PZED Members include Council Chair Dannielle Glaros and Council Members Karen R. Toles and Obie Patterson.

In addition to County zoning and subdivision bills, and planning and land-use regulations, PZED is also responsible for reviewing the Economic Development Corporation budget; the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, including bi-county concerns, the Planning Department, Parks and Recreation, and the Planning Board; as well as the People’s Zoning Counsel.

Council Member Derrick L. Davis will serve as Chair of the Public Safety and Fiscal Management Committee (PSFM) and Council Member Deni Taveras will serve as vice-chair for the second consecutive year. Committee Members include Council Members Todd Turner, Mary Lehman and Obie Paterson.

PSFM is responsible for reviewing 18 County agencies, and several issues and policies related to law enforcement, crime prevention and criminal justice, emergency preparedness, labor agreements, bond issues, budget and financial management, and cable television and telecommunications. Agency review responsibilities include the Office of Central Services; Circuit Court; Office of Community Relations; Department of Corrections; Office of Finance; Fire/EMS Department/Volunteer Fire; Office of Homeland Security; Office of Human Resources Management; Personnel Board; Office of Information Technology; Office of Law; Board of Ethics; Office of Management and Budget; Orphan’s Court; Police Department; Office of the Sheriff; Office of the State’s Attorney; and the Revenue Authority.

The Transportation, Housing and the Environment Committee (THE), will be led by Council Member Todd Turner and Council Member Karen Toles who will serve as chair and vice chair respectively. Committee Members include Council Member Mary Lehman, Council Member Mel Franklin and Council Member Deni Taveras.

THE handles legislative matters pertaining to transportation policy and planning, Transit-Oriented Development, as well as environmental protections, conservation programs and green infrastructure. Other policy and budget issues include the Capital Budget and Capital Improvement Program; Enterprise Funds; Solid Waste Plan; Storm Water Management; Community Development Block Grant Program; Redevelopment Authority; and Taxicabs and Limousines. Agency review responsibilities include the Department of Environmental Resources; Animal Control; Department of Housing and Community Development; Department of Public Works and Transportation; the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission Operating Budget; and the Washington Suburban Transit Commission.

Council Vice Chair Turner and Council Member Davis will preside over the Rules, General Assembly and Committee of the Whole (COW) as chair and vice-chair, respectively. WSSC, M-NCPPC and County Capital Budgets and Capital Improvement Programs are reviewed in COW.

Council of Government Appointments for 2018 include: Board of Directors, Council Member Davis and Vice Chair Turner; Transportation Planning Board, Chair Glaros and Council Member Toles (alternate); Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee, Council Members Taveras and Lehman (alternate); Region Forward Coalition, Chair Glaros; Human Services and Public Safety Policy Committee, Council Member Toles; Chesapeake Bay and Water Resources Policy Committee, Council Member Patterson; and Climate, Energy and Environment Policy Committee, Council Member Lehman.

For committee staffing information and a complete listing of committee assignments and appointments to County boards and commissions, click HERE.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Council News