News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/9/2017 4:34:49 PM to 2/10/2017 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

Council News

Posted on: January 9, 2017


Commission to Provide Briefing during Tuesday’s Council Session


The Blue Ribbon Commission on Addressing Prince George’s County’s Structural Deficit, established by Council Resolution 26-2015 as a part of the approved FY 2016 County Budget, will present its final report and recommendations during a briefing to the County Council on Tuesday, January 10, 2017, scheduled for 10:30 a.m. in the Council Hearing Room, First Floor, County Administration Building, 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive, in Upper Marlboro.

Fort Washington resident Earl Adams, Jr., Esq., chairs the Blue Ribbon Commission and will lead the report presentation.

The Blue Ribbon Commission is charged with recommending policies to the County Council and County Executive that will address the County’s structural deficit – the imbalance caused when normal government spending exceeds tax revenues on an annual basis. The commission will collect, review and discuss comparative budget data and information regarding Prince George’s County’s fiscal health; policies and practices that affect Prince George’s County’s revenue structure and the strength of its tax base; the structure and fiscal dynamics of the Prince George’s County Government; and feedback from community stakeholders concerning the County’s budget and tax structure.

Blue Ribbon Commission members include: David C. Harrington, representing the Prince George’s Chamber of Commerce; James R. Estepp, representing the Greater Prince George's Business Roundtable; Desiree Callender, representing the Prince George 's County Association of Realtors; Jamal I. Miller (MSEA UNISERV Director/Prince George's County Educators' Association) and Gino Renne (UFCW Local 1994 MCGEO) representing affiliates of organized labor; David Van Dyke (County Auditor) and Turkessa Green (Audit Manager) representing the County's Office of Audits and Investigations; and Terri Bacote-Charles (Director) and Amber Hendricks (Deputy Director) representing the County's Office of Management and Budget. The County Council has appointed the following six citizens to serve on the Commission: Earl Adams, Jr., Esq.; Henry W. Mosley, CPA; John Rogard Tabori; Ron L. Watson, Ph.D.; Sherman L. Ragland, II; and Mark E. Tomassoni, Ph.D. Council Chair Derrick Leon Davis (D) – District 6 serves as the Council's non-voting ex-officio member, and Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Budget, Finance & Administration, Thomas Himler serves as the County Executive’s non-voting ex-officio member.


The Blue Ribbon Commission on Addressing Prince George’s County’s Structural Deficit Presents Final Report and Recommendations



Prince George’s County Council

Blue Ribbon Commission Members



Tuesday, January 10, 2017

10:30 a.m.



County Administration Building

Council Hearing Room

County Administration Building, First Floor

14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive

Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772


All legislative powers of Prince George’s County are vested in the County Council. The County Council sits as the District Council on zoning and land use policy, and as the Board of Health to govern and guide health policy. The County Council meets as a legislative body on Tuesdays in the Council Hearing Room on the first floor of the County Administration Building in Upper Marlboro. For more information on the Prince George’s County Council, please visit

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Council News