News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/7/2021 6:59:34 PM to 10/1/2022 12:00:17 AM.

News Flash

Council News

Posted on: December 7, 2021


At-Large Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Elected for Second Consecutive Term as Chair; Council Member Sydney Harrison to Serve as Vice-Chair 

The Prince George’s County Council, convening virtually for its Gavel Exchange ceremony, unanimously reelected At-Large Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins, II, to serve as Chair for Legislative Year 2022. Council Member Sydney Harrison (D- District 9) was unanimously elected by his colleagues to serve as Vice-Chair. Chair Hawkins and Vice-Chair Harrison will serve in leadership through December 6, 2022.  

Chair Hawkins thanked his colleagues for the opportunity to serve as Chair, and for entrusting him with the Gavel of Leadership for a second consecutive year.    

“I want to sincerely thank my distinguished colleagues on the Prince George’s County Council for the coveted privilege of presiding over this august body over the past Legislative Year. I am humbled beyond words to accept the Gavel of Leadership once again for Legislative Year 2022 and promise to meet the moment with integrity, unity, and clear purpose.”

During his remarks, Chair Hawkins addressed several Council-supported initiatives that have “come to life” in the County over the past year, including the appointment of a new Police Chief; the opening of the new University of Maryland Capital Region Health; groundbreaking legislation this year supporting Qualified Data Centers in the County; and approval of the Countywide Map Amendment, the first update of the County’s Zoning Code in over fifty years.

Chair Hawkins also noted the challenges of the past year, while expressing hope for the future.  

 "These are times like none other – not only for the challenges, but also for the opportunities before us.   COVID notwithstanding, we are charting our path forward, and working together in new ways to restore the County’s shared prosperity.”

Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks attended the virtual Gavel Exchange ceremony, thanking the Council for its work on behalf of Prince George’s County residents and congratulating the new leadership team. 

“This Council has been indispensable to the welfare of our county and the health of our residents.  Together we are making change that benefits our whole community.  Greatness is growing in Prince George’s County and each of you should be proud of your important work. I extend my warmest congratulations to the incoming Chair and Vice Chair.” 

Chair Hawkins, of Upper Marlboro, was elected to serve At-Large for his first four-year term on the Prince George’s County Council in the 2018 General Election.  He served as Council Vice-Chair in Legislative Year 2020. Vice-Chair Harrison was elected to serve his first four-year term on the County Council in the November 2018 General Election as the County Council Member representing District 9.  

To watch on-demand video of the Gavel Exchange Ceremony, click HERE. The Gavel Exchange ceremony will also be cablecast on Prince George’s Community Television (CTV), Channel 42 (Verizon FIOS) and Channel 76, (Comcast).  For air dates and times, please visit or contact CTV at 301.773.0900.  

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Council News